Gratitude Days 15 and 16

246170384_5PTKhJj9_c

TGIF! Well, I’m happy as a lark that today is Friday! It’s the one day a week that I have time to myself. My mother is off to work, both children are in school and I have about  two hours of time where there’s no one around but me and the dog! In fact, I think it’s the only time all week that you can hear a pin drop in our halls.

Without hesitation, I’ll jump right into my gratitude moments of this week. Which may be brief for time’s sake because I’d like to get a meditation or some Reiki in while I have the space to do it 🙂

DAY 15: Mommy and Me Yoga!

September 22: Monday morning was filled with emotions of gratitude. I was able to get my son to school on time while my daughter remained asleep. I had time for both a mindful meditation and a gratitude meditation before she awoke. Upon waking, my daughter had herself “some very special food” as she calls it, then we began yoga together.

The two of us rolled out our yoga mats, side by side, grabbed our yoga bricks and began in mountain pose. (First she had to get fitted into her bright pink neon and purple yoga pants of course!) She has one expressive personality.

It brought me so much joy to see her standing beside me, following the poses, creating a few of her own along the way. “See Mommy? I’m doing it just like you! That’s right, I’m doing very special yoga with Mommy!” Everything is “very special” in the playful and imaginative world of my daughter.

I’m so proud to be able to share common interests with her already. To be able to pass down a healthy, active lifestyle to her, teaching her to love who she is, feisty personality and all. It goes back to that Dove Soap video I shared in an earlier post. For my little girl to continue being the strong, independent, self-confidant, free spirit she is now–well into adulthood–that’s all I can hope for. I know she’s going to do great things, going to take this world by storm, make a difference for the greater good. I’m proud of her already, today and  each passing day.

DAY 16:

Tuesday/September 23: Tuesday was an exhausting day for me. Busy with school and my munchkins, homework and housework. Then my dad, aka “Super Pop-Pop” came over. He watched my children for at least two or three hours so I could rest. I was (and still am) so grateful to him for helping out with the kids.

Chemo may be over but there are lingering side effects from treatment. Exhaustion being one of them. Low platelets only exacerbate fatigue, add in a touch of my children’s recent respiratory virus’ and you have a recipe for one tired mama. I’m back to myself again today but was extremely grateful, Tuesday, to have extra help when I needed it. I was able to dose off for an hour or two, get some much needed rest, then had ample energy later that night for keeping up with Thing 1 and Thing 2!

Leave a Reply

