Gratitude Day 14: Snuggles With My Boy

166dbce6b3a41e24e713c733de4d61fc - Version 2

This week has been such a blur. While I’ve had several moments of gratitude throughout the past four or five days, finding time to blog about them has been a bit of a challenge. It’s just been so busy–good busy–between classes, my children and everything else in between. It’s the everything else in between part that takes up a decent chunk of my time. Going here and there for my children to different appointments or scheduled activities, my own appointments, homework, making a bajillion phone calls to get this thing done or to move that thing along. The days I have a moment to breathe, a moment to take it all in, be grateful…I am so very thankful for those moments.

DAY 14 (Sunday/September 21):

My eight-year-old son is intellectually advanced for his age. I know I’m biased because he’s my son but this kid has been speaking in complete sentences since he was 18-months-old. He only spoke a few words here and there until he was a year and a half. Then he began daycare. Within one week, he was using full-blown sentences.

I was living in Colorado at the time; long distance phone calls to my mother were a daily occurrence. One day we were on the phone and she heard my son talking to me in the background. “Oh, is so and so over?” she asked. “Nope, that’s your grandson talking!” She was astonished at how his verbal communication skills had advanced so quickly. Maybe he was listening, in utero, all those times I read to him through my pregnant belly. Who knows really, but he’s sharp as a whip. His doctor told me that “he’s going to be a famous lawyer someday and buy you the house of your dreams.” In our family he’s known as “The Great Debater,” a child beyond his years who loves to make compromises in order to get his way. And believe me, this kid is damn good when it comes to bargaining.

Last winter, my mom asked my son if he wanted to make ten dollars shoveling a walkway out of her snow-covered back patio. He agreed, eager to make himself a few quick bucks. About half way through, he came into the house and said “Hey grandma, if I shovel the stairs off can you make it twenty?” My mother looked at him, wide eyes, trying not to laugh but also not wanting to shut him down. She said “How about I make it 15?” For nearly ten minutes they went back and forth, trying to come to an agreement as to how much he should be paid. They ended up settling when my mom told him it’s 15 or nothing at all. I do believe my son has met his match in wheeling and dealing when it comes to his grandmother.

He may be eight-years-old but, sometimes, I honestly feel like I’m raising a teenager. The issue with children who are so ahead of the learning curve, is that emotionally they’re still a child. But intellectually, they’re already years beyond their chronological age (words from his pediatrician). Which can make things like rule setting, and following, a challenge.

your-son-will-hold-your-hand-only-for-a-little-while-mother-quote - Version 2

My gratitude moment for Sunday occurred in the evening. My son didn’t give me the slightest bit of difficulty when it came time for bed. He talked me into watching a movie with him, even though it was a school night. Once we got all settled in and ready to watch the movie, he snuggled right up to me until he fell asleep.

I’m thankful that he’s still in the phase where he wants to spend time with me. He still loves cuddling with mom, which he probably wouldn’t be too thrilled about me sharing on a public blog! He also isn’t embarrassed to tell me he loves me out in public or give me a hug when I drop him off at school. Giving him a kiss on the cheek or forehead is a major no-n0 at school, but I’ll take what I can get. I usually end up laying a smooch or two on him anyhow, mom always wins!

One thing any parent can tell you, is that time spent raising children is always fleeting. Before you know it–you blink and they’re going into elementary school, getting their driver’s license or leaving the nest altogether. You have to cherish every moment before they’re grown. All those childhood memories build a foundation for who your child will become as an adult. Believe me, those trivial moments all add up. They’re some of the most wonderful moments for parents to experience but also some of the best memories your children will have.

Leave a Reply

