Gratitude Day 8: Conversations with Mama

Quotation-Lane-Olinghouse-attention-parent-Meetville-Quotes-1651 - Version 3

If you’re a mother, these next few lines may resonate with you. Imagine if you will…

Your child has been happy, running, playing, behaving all day long. Then the phone rings. Suddenly you feel as though you’ve just been drawn into Family Guy as Lois Griffin. “Mom, mom, mom, mum, mama, mama, ma, ma, mommy!” Before you have the chance to say  “hello” into the phone, a genetic-sharing miniature human suddenly is in dire need of your attention.

“I Want My Mommy” syndrome is a phenomenon known to mothers everywhere. Perhaps you’re trying to carry on a  civilized adult conversation above the third grade level. Nope! Children affected by the ever persistent, sometimes chronic ailment of “I Want My Mommy” are relentless. You can’t slip a word in edgewise. Quicker than you say “Chutes and Ladders!” (instead of it’s four letter “S-word” counterpart) your munchkin finds a way to make you lose your train of thought before it’s even left the station!

Enter, yesterday’s moment of gratitude…

All joking aside, I really enjoy getting to have one on one conversations with other adults. Full sentences, complete thought processes, intriguing verbal stimulation. However, engaging in meaningful conversation is a rarity at my house. Most verbal exchanges are about: pixie dust, books for young readers involving cape-wearing, underwear-sporting superheroes, the fine vessel “Buckey” (Jake and the Neverland Pirate crew’s ship), not farting at the dinner table and why it’s so important to (please, please for the love of Gummi Bears) shower daily.

When my mother and I actually get to sit down–over a few cups of tea–share, connect and listen to one another it’s the best feeling. Yesterday while my son was at school, while my daughter was having a tea party with Peter Pan; my mother and I had some mother/daughter quality time. We sat out on the back patio, enjoying the slightly cool weather and sunshine. I don’t even remember what we spoke about really. I just remember feeling so happy to have this time with her. It’s only a matter of time before I leave the nest again (I’ve moved in and out about four times now over the last decade).

This time will be different, I feel it in my spirit. When I move out this time, I know it’s going to be the last time that I do. I know that I’ll be moving into my own personal sanctuary. I’ll be in a healthy, nurturing relationship or moving toward that direction. Time to get my big girl panties on and put everything I’ve been working so hard for into play. I’m eager to see where life will take me, where my career will move us, the new people my children and I will meet along the way.

I’m grateful to have spent so much time with my mom. Even when we have those days of getting on each-other’s last nerve. You have to make the most and the best of the time you’re given while here. You only have one shot per lifetime to get it right, to make it beautiful, to make a difference.

Leave a Reply

