30 Days of Gratitude: Day 3!

10628326_530404800436242_142738661388100729_n

Yay! Today is Day 3 and in honor of last night’s post, here is my “happy gratitude moment of the day” for yesterday 🙂

My son’s God-mother and I have been friends for about 12 years now. It seems to have gone by in a blink, but when I open my eyes she’s always there for me. Time is trivial. It doesn’t matter if we see each-other twice a year or can only talk on the phone every few weeks or months. It’s always as though time has ceased to pass. She’s the one who tells me what I need to hear, not what I want to hear. The one who gives it to me straight but also the one with a compassionate heart, always eager to listen even when she’s pressed for time.

My gratitude moment is with great thanks to her. Yesterday was one of those crazy, busy days with the kids where neither one cared to listen but both wanted to have it their way. I’m sure it was by the grace of the Universe that I had the patience I did. If someone had been here, from the outside looking in, they surely would have asked how I manage to stay so calm in such a chaotic environment. My response would have been, “I have absolutely no idea. I don’t think about it, I just do what needs to be done”. I’m able to block out quite a bit, maybe due to meditating so often? Not sure exactly. But when both munchkins are screaming, yelling and throwing things at each other–it rarely phases me.

Anyhow, amidst the “kidsnado” of swirling rambunctiousness, I received this perfect little reminder of a friendship that I’m truly thankful for. My son’s God-mother had sent me a card. On the front of the cover were these two little, happy-go-lucky girls holding hands. I didn’t even have to open it for my eyes to well up in tears. The two little girls looked identical to what my friend and I would have looked like at that age. Right down to her curly hair and the horizontal striped dresses that my mother used to dress me in.

It was something so simple, but something so meaningful. This woman has been my rock through the party days of our youth (haha), two pregnancies, an unhealthy marriage, a devastating divorce, three or more moves around the country, a cancer diagnosis, chemo, and everything else life has thrown at me. She has always been there. For the tears, the laughter. She was the first one there in the hospital after I woke up from having an emergency Cesarian section during the birth of my son. I really don’t know what I’d do without her. I can only hope that I’ve been half the friend to her that she has been to me. We’ll be two old bitties someday, sitting on her porch out west. Relaxing in our chairs, making fun of our husbands (one can only hope I’ll be re-married by that time!) and sipping on some frosty margaritas. Hey, we’ll be elderly but that doesn’t mean we have to stop living!

So thank you woman, if you’re reading this. You made my day so much brighter. It’s a blessing to have you in my life and my children’s lives as well.

Leave a Reply

