Chemo Session Four (April 8, 2014)

Chemo Session Four

Well, it’s Tuesday morning folks. Chemo time. My nurse Kelly hasn’t begun the chemo portion of my treatment just yet. She’s accessed my port, which means that a butterfly-type needle has been inserted through the skin and into the power port that was surgically implanted under it in the beginning of February.

A bag of dextrose hangs from the IV pole next to me. My mother sits nearby reading “Dear Abby”. We both share a laugh at my corny sense of nerd humor. “Mom, do they spell dear Abby with a y or with an i?” When she replies “Y”, I say “Why? Because I asked you.” I know, I know, super corny, super cheesy, but hey, that’s me!

I haven’t yet been given any of the steroids or anti nausea meds, chemo or the 5FU flush. I believe they named it the 5FU flush because it’s given last after all of the other medications. And honestly at the end of chemo, that’s exactly how I feel, “FU” chemotherapy.

I really didn’t want to come in today for treatment. I’m tired of it already. I feel healthy, I feel strong. I don’t feel like a cancer patient. My blood counts have (knock on wood) been perfect every time they’ve been checked, the day before treatment.

But I’m here. I’m here because I have two beautiful children who need me and like it or not, these chemo treatments may very well be saving my life. I’ve seen blogs and read stories about people who cure themselves without ever needing chemo or surgery, they miraculously heal their body.

Our mind is a very powerful tool with unlimited potential if we just learn how to tap into it. But it’s my own personal belief that in order to heal one’s body in this way you have to fully, whole heartedly believe that you can. If there is any sense of doubt, even the smallest inkling of it, then I don’t think that a total body healing can occur.

I also believe that you need to dedicate yourself completely to achieving that lifestyle. Which can mean working out a certain number of times per week, juicing a certain number of times per day and eating as close to the source as you possibly can. And stress needs to be at an absolute minimum.

Being the single mother of two small children on a fixed income it’s not always easy for me to follow such a strict regime. But I do my best to make sure that my children and I are eating healthy. Everything that I prepare for us is non-GMO or certified organic. After surgery, the tumor that was removed from my colon was sent out for genetic testing. There was no genetic link whatsoever between my family and colon cancer. None. If I had to place blame somewhere, it would be on Monsanto and GMO’s.

We (my siblings and I) simply weren’t educated enough about eating organically growing up. I’m not even referring to our parents here, they did the best they could do with what they were given. I’m talking doctor’s appointments and within the public school system. There’s a reason why colon cancer diagnoses for people my age (late twenties) is on the rise. Yet the rate for diagnosis of people in their forties and early fifties is dramatically less. I understand that people my age are not regularly screened for colon cancer. However, I feel it’s not so much the lack of an early screening test as much as the increase of processed foods, fast food, pollution and GMO’s being consumed by Americans.
—–>You can check out the brief article here:
https://www.exactsciences.com/blog/colorectal-cancer-incidence-rate-skyrocketing-young-adults-s/

It wasn’t until the spring of 2013 that I began eating completely organic. I began the transition for myself and my children in the fall of 2012 but made the complete change the following spring. I honestly don’t even remember what triggered me to transform our diet. It was around the time that I started researching paraben in tanning products and other harsh chemical fragrances in body lotion and bath products. Since then everything from our toothpaste, to shampoo, to the food we eat is as close to the source as I can get it.

I would love to have a garden of my own in the backyard, a compost pile and maybe even raise some chickens. You know what, while I’m at it, let’s throw in some goats too. Because one–free goat cheese is awesome, two–baby goats are “wicked” (as we native Massholes say) cute and three–I love animals.

My son drives my mother crazy sometimes because he apparently DOES listen to everything I say about living a healthy lifestyle. So when my mother buys her Little Debbie Snack Cakes (very rarely) or a bottle of soda, he’ll say to her “Grandma! Do you know what’s in this stuff? High fructose corn syrup? Hydrog-gen-ga-nated oils? Mali-something, I can’t even pronounce this! Grandma, this is so bad for you, it’s like poison in a box!” At which point, my mother looks over at me with disdain, and pride I suppose at the same time, “Here we go again.”

It’s reassuring to know that he really is listening. I can make a difference with my children now and help them develop healthy lifestyle habits that will last a lifetime. My son loves working out with my ankle weights and my daughter has been doing yoga on her own since before she could walk. She must have been a yogini in a past life I swear.

I’m almost at the end of my treatment for today. I’ve been given Decadron, a steroid that aids in the absorption of the chemo drugs. Emend, an anti-nausea medication. Oxaliplatin, one of the chemo meds, which can only be given through the dextrose flush line. Leucovorin will be next, then the 5FU flush at the end. But now, it’s time for lunch. Home made shepherd’s pie, and yes, the ingredients are completely organic.

Leave a Reply

